More ministries


St. John XXIII
5170 Winchester Southern Road NW
Canal Winchester, OH 43110
Marcella Travis

[email protected]

The Order of Christian Initiation of Adults (OCIA) is a program for people interested in the Catholic faith, whether they are non-Catholics thinking about becoming Catholic, or Catholics who wish to learn more and/or embrace  the Catholic faith. The program starts with a period of instruction and progresses into a more in-depth experience of Catholicism and then invites participants into a process of initiation. Often this includes the Sacraments of Initiation: Baptism (for those not yet baptized, or baptized in another denomination), Confirmation and the Holy Eucharist.

INQUIRY—a period for questions and introduction to the faith, but without any commitment by the individual. Those who discern that God is calling them to become Catholic will go through--

THE RITE OF BECOMING A CATECHUMEN (for those not baptized) or THE RITE OF WELCOMING (for those baptized)-- a ceremony in which they declare their intention and desire of entering the Church and living as members of God’s people and the Church blesses and accepts them into the

CATECHUMENATE—a period of instruction in the life of the Church and of  living as a Catholic Christian. Having shown sincerity, understanding of the faith and commitment during the Cathechumenate, the catechumens and candidates will be chosen to receive the Sacraments of Initiation at the Easter Vigil through

THE RITE OF ELECTION, held by the bishop on the first Sunday of Lent. He will inquire as to their readiness and urge them to spend Lent in prayer, discernment, and preparation for Baptism, Confirmation and Eucharist at Easter. They, the Elect, will then enter the period of

PURIFICATION AND ENLIGHTENMENT—the Lenten period during which Elect will join the Christian community in reforming their lives so that they can fully and freely commit themselves to Christ at the Easter Vigil through

THE CELEBRATION OF THE SACRAMENTS OF INITIATION—the climax and high point of the Church’s life when it celebrates the Life, Death, and Resurrection of Jesus Christ, renews its baptismal promises and receives new members through Baptism, Confirmation and the sharing at the table of the Eucharist. This celebration is followed by a period of

MYSTAGOGIA—a time for the newly baptized begin their Christian life by deepening their grasp of the Paschal Mystery and in making it part of their lives through meditating on the Gospels, sharing in Eucharist, and in works of charity. This formal period lasts until Pentecost when they share Eucharist with the Bishop as Neophytes or New Ones.